Diane and Actaeon – Pugni – Pas de Deux


Pas de Deux from Diane and Actaeon

Arranged for solo piano. Buy now to download instantly.

Instant download availability after purchase!

  • Check Mark Satisfaction Guaranteed
  • Check Mark Quality ballet sheet music
  • Check Mark Secure Payments
  • Stripe
  • Visa Card
  • MasterCard
  • PayPal



The ballet “Diana and Actaeon” is a dramatic retelling of the ancient Greek myth of the hunter Actaeon and the goddess Diana. In the myth, Actaeon stumbled upon Diana and her nymphs while they were bathing in a forest pool and was turned into a stag as punishment for seeing the goddess naked. The ballet brings this story to life through a combination of music, dance, and elaborate costumes.

Another key aspect of “Diana and Actaeon” is its use of music. The score, composed specifically for the ballet, is an integral part of the performance and helps to set the mood and atmosphere of the piece. The music ranges from playful and light to dark and intense, reflecting the changing emotions of the characters as the story unfolds.


A well-known figure in the realm of 19th-century ballet music was Cesare Pugni (1802–1870). Pugni, who was born in Genoa, Italy, showed promise as a musician at a young age and underwent professional piano and composition instruction. His work was mostly connected to Russia, where he was the chief composer for the St. Petersburg-based Imperial Ballet. Pugni’s extensive work, which included writing music for several well-known choreographers including Marius Petipa and Jules Perrot, made a significant contribution to the art of ballet.

Additional information

Ballet Title