Romeo and Juliet – Prokofiev – Romeo’s Variation (Act 1)


Romeo’s variation from Romeo and Juliet

Arranged for solo piano. Buy now to download instantly.

Instant download availability after purchase!

  • Check Mark Satisfaction Guaranteed
  • Check Mark Quality ballet sheet music
  • Check Mark Secure Payments
  • Stripe
  • Visa Card
  • MasterCard
  • PayPal



Romeo and Juliet” is a remarkable ballet adaptation of Shakespeare’s timeless tragic love story composed by Sergei Prokofiev. Romeo, the heir to the Montague family, and Juliet, the Capulet maiden, are shown in the ballet as having a turbulent relationship, with everything set against the backdrop of Renaissance Verona. With the emotive language of dance, their illicit relationship is shown as it unravels against the backdrop of a savage family rivalry. The choreography of the ballet masterfully conveys the essence of youth, passion, and fate’s inevitable course. The story is further enhanced by Prokofiev’s entrancing soundtrack, which swells and recedes to reflect the lovers’ emotional journey from their first meeting at the Capulet ball to the heartbreaking tragedy of their premature deaths.


Russian composer, pianist, and conductor Sergei Prokofiev (1891–1953) embodied the dynamic nature of 20th-century music in both his life and compositions. He was raised in Sontsovka, Ukraine, and studied at the St. Petersburg Conservatory, where he developed his exceptional musical ability at an early age. Compositions by Prokofiev demonstrated a unique and avant-garde style that was marked by complex rhythms, discordant harmonies, and a modernistic perspective on music. Throughout his career, he rose from Russia to recognition on a global scale, experiencing a particularly prosperous time in both Europe and the US. Classic pieces like “Peter and the Wolf” and “Romeo and Juliet” are still honoured for their lasting influence on classical music.

Additional information

Ballet Title