La Sylphide – Løvenskiold – James’ Variation


James’ variation from La Sylphide by Løvenskiold

Arranged for solo piano. Buy now to download instantly.

Instant download availability after purchase!

  • Check Mark Satisfaction Guaranteed
  • Check Mark Quality ballet sheet music
  • Check Mark Secure Payments
  • Stripe
  • Visa Card
  • MasterCard
  • PayPal



La Sylphide is a romantic ballet that tells the story of a young Scottish man named James, who becomes infatuated with a beautiful and ethereal sylph, a woodland spirit. The ballet is set in a picturesque Scottish countryside and features the conflict between James’ betrothal to a mortal woman, Effie, and his desire for the otherworldly sylph. 

As the story unfolds, James is lured into the mystical world of the sylphs, abandoning his human life and his love for Effie. The ballet explores themes of desire, fantasy, and the otherworldly, culminating in a tragic and poignant ending.


August Ritter von Løvenskiold was a notable Norwegian-Danish composer and nobleman who lived from 1810 to 1870. He is primarily remembered for his contributions to the world of ballet and music. Løvenskiold was born into a noble family in Denmark and received a classical education. He demonstrated a strong interest in music from a young age and went on to study composition and piano, primarily in Copenhagen.

Løvenskiold’s most enduring work is his composition for the ballet “La Sylphide,” which he composed in 1836. This ballet is considered one of the landmarks of Romantic ballet and remains a cornerstone of the ballet repertoire to this day.

Additional information

Ballet Title